On The Trail

Homeschool Hiking

Yarn Along-Mrs.Roosevelt’s Knitting

7 Comments

Joining Small Things for the Yarn Along today!

Last weekend we visited FDR’s Birthplace and Eleanor Roosevelt’s Home, both part of the National Park System. You can read more about it here. One of my favorite parts was in Eleanor Roosevelt’s home. Somehow they had a piece of her knitting in progress in the bag she used to carry it! The ranger giving us the tour didn’t seem to know much beyond that it was indeed Eleanor’s own knitting. It was impossible for me to read the bag as it was upside down but it is done in crewelwork. I wonder if she did that as well!

IMG_2538

In the library at FDR’s home we also discovered a copy of the Burgess Bird Book for Children. Something I read to my day care kiddos and Maddie at snacktime. Maddie was thrilled and took a picture of that too!

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Both perfect for the yarn along I thought.

In my own knitting I am working on a shawl that is very slow going. I need quiet and time to work on it. Both are often in short supply! So I also have a pair of socks that I am knitting from my favorite sock pattern, Getting Started Knitting Socks. This time its a pair for me! I am also waiting on needles to start Maddie’s sweater from the last yarn along. I ordered the wrong size the first time around. I am re-reading Pocketful of Pinecones because I love the story. Its a good one to get my creative juices flowing for the next school year!

IMG_2542

What are you working on and reading?

7 thoughts on “Yarn Along-Mrs.Roosevelt’s Knitting

  1. Oh what fun!!! Knitting history! You just brought me back many years as I remember reading a pocketful of pinecones when my girls were all little! Great read! and lovely knitting!!

  2. Quiet and time…yes…I could use some of that as well 🙂 Hope you can find some soon!

  3. Oh! Seeing historical knitting just gets my imagination going! I am adding that book to my amazon wishlist as I meander into the early homeschooling with my little ones and have appreciated the only other Karen Andreola book I’ve read on CM. Thank you for the recommendation!

  4. We were very close to Campobello Island last summer on our trip to St. Andrew by the Sea. Such a lovely part of the country!

  5. Oh I love those historical tours. I have been to Hyde Park when I was in my late teens. I am always drawn to the décor and the stitchery at these places. I love the yarn you are using for your socks.

Leave a Reply

