On The Trail

Homeschool Hiking

A Nest for Celeste

3 Comments

IMG_1119This spring I found out that all 3 of my “graduates” from day care were coming back for the summer! We are so excited. All 3 of them have spring birthdays so I thought we would have an un-birthday party for them the first day they are all here together. I decided I would give each one a cup cozy with a toy pocket. I will have to make the pocket a bit bigger than the pattern directions give however! I was hoping to put a lego minfigure into the pockets like Maddie’s but the summer minifigures are all based on the Simpsons. So I had to find other things which will not be so small…. The pattern is called Fairy Cup Cozy.

Since Maddie and I finished Harry Potter we are reading A Nest for Celeste. We saw it at the library and when we read that Audubon’s assistant was part of the story we decided we had to read it. The illustrations are beautiful. We are not too sure yet how the author feels about Audubon though, its show a decidedly negative side to what he was doing. I am hoping that we can figure this out before we get to the end!

I am listening to Christy. I have not read this story in quite a long time and am really enjoying it! Kellie Martin is reading the story which is nice because she played Christy in the miniseries. Maddie has slid in to listen to parts along with me which has been fun too. I am still reading the Outlander series although I am nearing the end finally! This is my second time reading them! When I read the latest one I realized I had forgotten quite a bit so decided to go back to the beginning and read them one after the other.

What are you knitting and reading? I’ve seen some other people mention knitting podcasts. Can anyone recommend a good one? Joining Ginny at Small Things.

3 thoughts on “A Nest for Celeste

  1. What a great idea for a gift. I love the little pocket.

  2. These are so cute! And well done for getting through Outlander (twice!) – I got about 200 pages into the first one and was fed up with the way the Scottish accents were written so had to give up (but then I am Scottish, so I would have read their accents like that anyway!) 🙂

Leave a Reply

